Uncategorized

High Five Cobbler

I call this high five cobbler because it’s super easy (it only has 6 ingredients!) and I absolutely LOVE making it. After, I always kind of want to high five myself. Also, I only allow myself to make this once a month. I just can’t help myself when it’s around. Side note: this was featured a couple of years ago in Southern Living and I kick myself for not making it sooner.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups blackberries
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 6 tbs butter

Steps:

The Filling

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees
IMG_0320

 

2. First, you wash the black berries a toss them into an 8×8 dish.

 

 

IMG_0326

 

 

3. Next, drizzle the lemon juice on top. That’s it! You’re done with the filling.

 

 

The crust:

IMG_0328

 

 

1. Use a pastry blender to mix the egg, flour, and sugar.

 

 

IMG_0332

 

2. Make it into a coarse meal– if possible. Then pour over the berries.

 

 

 

IMG_0334

 

 

3. Melt the butter and then sprinkle that over the top of the crust.

 

 

IMG_0342

4. Now all you have to do is bake it for 35 minutes and you have some absolutely amazing cobbler. Sometimes I justify the fruit and the “bread” as having breakfast qualities so I can eat it more often. This probably isn’t the best idea. But to me, its THAT good!

 

 

IMG_0346

Leave a Reply

